top of page
Writer's pictureruchishri

Meri Maa


There are seldom days which overwhelm us beyond our own expectations.

There is little in our control to process our emotions and imaginations which flies beyond the horizon.


It is 14th May, Maa’s birthday and also Mother’s Day.

As a kid first time when I celebrated Mother’s Day I bought her a small purse made of some cheap plastic material from my pocket money, she so happily kept it and said she loved it… how moms are not judgmental and so kind ( sighhhh)


Exactly 4 days later on her birthday, I had no money to buy anything for her so I broke all the flowers in her garden and made a small bouquet for her birthday.


 She didn’t complain despite me ruining her garden’s beauty, all the flowers which she had tended to were cut brutally by me.


With each passing day, I wish that I could turn back the time and have her next to me giggling, laughing and being amused at my stupidity and strange humour!


Sighhhhhh... how I wish and hope!!!

But there is another way I try to live with her in my head to be a  better,  compassionate, humble and forgiving person like her…

Every year I bake something for Mom on her birthday, this year I decided to make her an easy wheezy Malai cake from her diary.


This was one cake she would make in a jiffy when there was nothing left in her pantry.


To add a bit of summer season flavour I added frozen Dussheri to the cake, a mango she loved dearly.


She was a woman of simple means with a very clean flavour palate. She never enjoyed cakes with icing so despite my heart wanting to ice the cake, I decided against it and kept it simple. Exactly the way she would have liked it.


Happy Happy Birthday Mom and a very Happy Mother’s Day.

Sending wishes to all the moms in the world who protect their children, educate them beyond their means and make us better humans.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page